India 2024: Scenes from two small towns

It was fun to attend a Kathakali performance in Kochi with a bunch of sketchers. Just look at the view from my seat!

The most impressive bit of the performance was the application of elaborate makeup, all done on stage so we could watch it happen.

Towards the end of my trip, I spent some time in the town of Hubali. I was there just in time for Republic Day and an early morning flag-hoisting ceremony.

What the water towers are to the Brooklyn skyline, these plastic tanks are to the skyline of towns in India. I had to capture them in a quick sketch.

My favorite part of Hubali was the old town and its market streets, each catering to a different business. This was the vegetable street.

On another street filled with jewelry shops, I found Nana, as everyone called him (which means grandpa). Nana belongs to a community that finishes up necklaces: when you buy your gold pendants and beads you can watch Nana expertly string it all together in a design of your choosing and finish up the ends in beautiful waxed thread. His kids and grandkids all apprentice under him but the most delicate finishing job is still Nana’s.

And with that, we’re at the end of my time in India, for now. I hope you enjoyed coming along for the ride. I’ll be back on another sketching adventure and workshop in Jan 2025 and maybe I’ll see you there?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

You can see earlier posts in the series from India here:
• The Study Hall of Dreams and Hopes
• Crawford Market
• Washing Linen, Fishing Marlin
• Small Spaces
• Fishing Boats and Fish Markets
• Little Shops
• Food and Family
• Spices, Fish Thalis and Temple Food
• Temples
• Sketches from South Mumbai
• Synagogues and Victory Arches

Gateway to India is a workshop based in India that I run with my co-instructor, Zainab Tambawala. The next session is in late January 2025. Workshop details will be announced by March 2024. If you are interested in joining us, write to me at suhita@gmail.com and let me know!

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in India, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment