India 2024: Temples

This, technically, is the entrance to a muth, not just a temple. A muth (said like “mutt” but with an “h” sound at the end) is a monastery but it’s often part of a bigger complex that includes a temple, school, hall for gatherings, and more.

I sketched this sitting in the street in Hubali leading up to the complex. Fresh orange flags were everywhere and a group of boys and men gathered to watch me sketch, commenting on characters they spotted in my sketch, and whether it was “same to same” (which would mean matching up to the view, which is a compliment).

This little room with a shrine inside the complex decorated in Japanese tile in an eclectic range of styles. After joining hands in prayer to the deity and circling around it, it’s customary to not just walk out but sit down for even a short moment. That’s how I got to sketch people sitting among these little arched alcoves. And of course, I also got offered multiple rounds of sweets while I was there.

Here are some of the many tiles in this little space.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++

You can see earlier posts in the series from India here:
• The Study Hall of Dreams and Hopes
• Crawford Market
• Washing Linen, Fishing Marlin
• Small Spaces
• Fishing Boats and Fish Markets
• Little Shops
• Food and Family
• Spices, Fish Thalis and Temple Food

Gateway to India is a 10-day workshop based in India that I run with my co-instructor, Zainab Tambawala. The next session is in late January 2025. Workshop details will be announced by March 2024. If you are interested in joining us, write to me at suhita@gmail.com and let me know!

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in India, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment