One Tall Crane

This was a huge construction crane. Every time it spun back and lowered it’s hook, these men would pick up and quickly attach yet another huge air conditioning unit for the crane to pick up.

If I had thumbnailed this and figured my composition, I might have fit the whole height of the crane in, but I think it works this way too, with the crane so tall it doesn’t fit on my paper.

construction_crew

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Close to home, Construction, Figure Drawing, people, san jose, Silicon Valley and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to One Tall Crane

  1. sueashby7 says:

    I absolutely love this. Just looking at this piece I could hear the noise of the men working and the crane running. You really are amazing! 🙂

    Like

  2. wow….how fun! and how difficult! I especially love that back leg of the man on the left, so much tension and you can feel how hard the work is. I wouldn’t mind trying this out just for fun, wouldn’t have an idea how to start. I am not urban but I have several towns that I can sketch at.

    Like

  3. lackerley says:

    Truly the queen of gesture-was trying to guess your initial line of action for the guys! Love this and reminded me the need to practice. At life drawing we were doing movement and my drawings definitely were better for having done your craftsy…but I have a way long way to go!!

    Like

  4. Dina says:

    This illustration is just beautiful, how long would this take to create? and are you working directly on the site?

    Like

Leave a Reply

