Back at Stanford Memorial Church

I’ve sketched the Stanford Memorial Church years ago. So it’s interesting to go back, sketch it again and compare my sketches. This time I had the added bonus of sketching with Laurie Wigham and Gail Wong.

It was mostly a grey, shadowless day, with lots of very busy-looking students striding across to class. I even saw one person riding their bicycle while reading notes (rushing off to an exams? Finals week??) Here are my two sketches.
stanford_mem_church1a

stanford_mem_church1

And here are Laurie and Gail, and all our work, out on the grass.
stanford_mem_church2astanford_mem_church2b

It was a really short sketch session, but I’m so glad I met them. One of the nicest things about the big Urban Sketching family is meeting up with a sketcher you don’t see often and drawing together. Thanks Laurie and Gail!

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home, Silicon Valley and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Back at Stanford Memorial Church

  1. THESE ARE DAMN BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m in love with them ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

  2. theartistonetheroad says:

    Love your line work on these two. Very curvy and lively!

    Like

  3. Nancy Bardosdos says:

    Thank you so much for this. I used to attend MemChu when I lived in Palo Alto. It’s one of my favorite buildings on the planet! Fun to see all the lovely work you 3 did.

    Like

    • Thanks Nancy… and I’ve barely scratched the surface, having just sketched the facade… will have to sketch inside, someday. And then down those long arched passageways…

      Like

      • Nancy Bardosdos says:

        Ah, yes, love the Angels on the interior dome. Well, just about everything, actually. I think Jane Stanford may have driven the Italian workmen slightly mad tho….I hear she used to stick her umbrella tip into some of the carvings to make sure they were deep enough. Don’t know how in the world she would have climbed ladders and scaffolding in those long skirts! Also so much of the inside is such beautiful mosaic work and of course those fabulous stained glass windows (also Italian, I think.) A very special place for sure.

        Like

  4. Sarah says:

    went to Stanford. These rock!

    Like

Leave a Reply

