Wrapping up “One Week 100 People”

Most years I participate in Marc Holmes and Liz Steel’s “One Week 100 People” challenge. This year I just sketched more people but didn’t count them. Until now. Here is where I ended up.

Right now I’m a bit obsessed with finding a way to use my dip pens on location. I need a setup that is hands-free, but portable. Here’s a video of my current setup that I used in many of these sketches. You can see the first few sketches had plenty of splotches and blotches till I (kinda) got the hang of the setup.

Then I took it to the farmers’ market and did a whole bunch of people in 2 colored inks. Colored pencil added later.

Everything else I did last week was from photos: the first image below is done in a half hour long, open-to-all session for all substack subscribers. If you haven’t joined yet, sign up here: the recorded version of the session will be available to everyone signed up before April 1st.

The set above was my practice run of doing 10 sketches in 10 minutes.
And the set below is done in a zoom session. We sketched 30 people in 30 minutes.

I think I just go a little past 100, and that’s if you count all of these, the good, the bad, and the barely-a-sketch ones.

Most years. I try to figure something I will learn from doing a challenge. But this year, I was just happy to get a bunch of folks- some of you included- excited to draw people.

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in challenge, people. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wrapping up “One Week 100 People”

  1. happy23188 says:

    Your sketches exude Wonderful movement!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Larry says:

    your sketches are Motivating.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment