Direct Watercolor, it’s almost over!

I’m getting close to the end of the Direct Watercolor challenge. (Yes, I know it’s past June now but I’m a bit behind on posting these to the blog. It’s been long, it’s been good, it’s been frustrating, and some days, I just want to get a piece done so I’ll stay on schedule.

Some pieces don’t stretch or challenge me, but there’s place for days where you just enjoy messing around with watercolor on paper, right? These pieces of a little stuffed monkey toy I brought back from San Miguel de Allende, Mexico fit that category.
dw_18monkey1

Another day I painted my son messing around on the piano. A little more challenging since he decided to get up and go not long after I started. So I was forced to call the piece done at that.
dw_17peachNish

I paint views of the mountains behind home quite often. What I love is that tower (which just looks like a tiny box) on them called Mount Umunhum.
dw23_crowe_2.jpg

A few more days of direct watercolor postings left and then it’s summer travel time for me. Not sure how much I will be able to blog while I am away on vacation with my family and then teaching at the Urban Sketchers Symposium in Porto but if I drop off for a couple of weeks, know that I’ll be back with a lot to post after that!30x30-direct-watercolor-white-logo_horizontal_web

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in challenge, Close to home, Everyday Sketches, Paintings, people, Portrait, san jose, Silicon Valley, watercolor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Direct Watercolor, it’s almost over!

  1. Carmela Sunnyvale says:

    Really colorful sketch of Mount Umunhum–wonderful view of the San Jose area from the top. The view and restored facilities are worth the trip on a clear day. Thanks forswearing during hte challenge–your tips were very helpful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment