Photo-Inspired Sketching

Lately, I’ve been doing a fair amount of sketching from photos, a lot of it on Zoom in a group. And I’m enjoying it: it’s a really fun way for me to experiment with new materials at home before I try them out on location.

These boats are from a recent Street View World Tour. Never joined a session? They’re super fun and the demos from all the sessions are here.

This view of the cliffs on the coast of California is from an online workshop I taught recently called Colors that Pop.

The next two images are from Sketch Together Zoom sessions I hold for Substack members. I love seeing how a roomful of people can have completely different takes on a single image. And, it is fun to see what direction everyone takes a piece in within the half hour we spend sketching together.

It feels like all that very layered mixed-media sketching I’m doing from photos is finding its way into my on-location sketches too. Like this one below of a view in San Francisco. What a morning that was: and it wasn’t just because of the spectacular view. The company was pretty memorable too!

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home, san franciso, Silicon Valley. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment