At the Docks in Essaouira, Morocco

There’s a lot to experience and sketch in Essaouira, Morocco. But for me, nothing beats the docks with their fishing boat activity. While it is wonderful to hang out there all day, the best-est part of the day is the evenings, when the catch comes in. You can tell from the disproportionate number of sketches I made here on a very short trip that I enjoyed this location a lot!

When the boats are up on dry land they are big hulking forms lying around being bleached by the hot sun.

Out bobbing at sea, they look so different.

Best of all, I love all the activity when a fishing boat comes in. There’s a rush to unload bins of fish before the next boat comes into dock.

Once the offloading is done, men stand around a raised box full of little sardines preserved in salt and hook thousands of them up as bait for the next day.

As the activity winded down that evening I dis one final colored pencil and pen spread in my book before I headed back to dinner.


The first post in this series of sketches from Morocco is here. More coming soon!

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in people, Travel, Workshop and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to At the Docks in Essaouira, Morocco

  1. SANDRA MAC DIARMID says:

    Suhita, you really made the most of this surprise time.. I loved Morocco but you really did it proud…

    Like

  2. nancy cunningham says:

    I’m planning a return to Morocco in 2024. My trip there was cut short in 2020 by Covid and the shutting down of everything in morocco, including flights. I did manage to get home thanks to the government of France and Air France. Essouira is definitely on my itinerary.

    nancy in Savannah GA

    Like

Leave a comment