A Surprise Trip to Morocco

Just over a month ago, I found myself in Morocco, substitute-teaching a workshop for a friend who could not make it. It’s quite something to land in a place you have never been to before, nor have had time to research and get to sketching, never mind teaching.

Fortunately, the town we were in- Essaouira- is small, colorful, full of activity, and quite the sketcher’s paradise. When I’m teaching, I don’t end up sketching much. Or at least, most of my sketches are in bits of the day. This trip was no exception. Still, there are lots of captures of people, food, and endless cups of mint tea in my book.

I love all the bright and bold patterns people wear. These two pages are at airport lounges, waiting for my many flight connections.

Food and drink stops are plenty, and I pulled out my sketchbook whenever I could. The sardines, freshly grilled, are to die for. And the mint tea never stops being poured. Olives and bread are everywhere.

That blue you see in these images- it’s everywhere. On doors, windows, on clothes, and on ceramics. It’s a beautiful color, ranging from a cobalt blue to a deep ultramarine.

This spread was sketched as we walked around town on a tour of the city on the opening day of our workshop. Pages like this are notes to myself as I move with the group, a small set of supplies in one hand, but I am always amazed at how many memories and little instances these half-sentences and small scribbles bring back.

More sketches from Essaouira coming soon!

==========================================================================

ps: I’m partnering with Stillman & Birn, on Instagram in an international giveaway where three winners will be chosen. Head over here to enter it.

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in people, Travel, Workshop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Surprise Trip to Morocco

  1. florync says:

    Love these sketches, Suhita! Way to hit the ground running.
    I followed the link to your Insta account to find out about the Stillman and Birn giveaway. Where can I find that?

    Like

  2. florync says:

    Thank you, Suhita.

    Like

Leave a comment