A tool I love: The Pentel Pocket Brushpen

One of my favorite sketching tools is the Pentel Pocket Brushpen.

I used it for these super-quick sketches when the construction crew was on my street last week.

And for this more leisurely sketch of the kitchen counter after a party.

There are lots of brushpens out there, but nothing else,not even more expensive sable-haired brushpens, do for me what this one does. I don’t think there are any perfect tools, just tools that work best for how each of us draws and paints.

So a firmer pen tip or a different tip might be your magic tool. I like this writeup from Jetpens that compares some of the more popular pens out there. Read it if you’re looking for a brushpen that works for how you draw:

https://www.jetpens.com/blog/The-Best-Brush-Pens-for-Lettering-and-Calligraphy/pt/621

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Close to home, Construction, Drink, Everyday Sketches, Food, tools and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A tool I love: The Pentel Pocket Brushpen

  1. Diane says:

    Hi Suhita,

    Just curious – the Pentel Pocket Brush Pen only has black ink, right? What did you use for the color in the two sketch examples above? Regular watercolor with a brush?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment