Sketching in Goa: Part 1

1o short days in India. Too short for much more than a visit to my parents in Goa. And for sketching in and around the city of Panjim, where they live. So these next few posts are just that: Sketches from the streets and markets of Goa.

This is just a normal day at Bombay airport, where I wait to catch my flight to Goa. Sketched in pen and blue pencil.
mumbai_airport_going-to-goa

And the perfect contrast to the busy milling crowds anywhere are the stray dogs who sleep peacefully through any amount of noise and chaos. They make such great models. Nothing can wake them up, and they don’t even notice when I stand right over them and sketch them.
stray_dogs_2_padel_fort stray_dogs_kala_academy

Another common sight everywhere: the water tanker that fills up your water tank. Much of urban India suffers from water shortages, and if you’re lucky you can afford to buy water from a private company.
goa_tanker_water

This three-wheeler, the autorickshaw can make it’s way through almost any traffic jam.
goa_auto2

Here’s a lineup of them at the auto stand outside Panjim Market.
goa_auto1

This is the tempo, a cousin of the auto that’s used for carrying all sorts of stuff.
goa_auto3_TEMPO
And while I’m posting vehicles, here is a Royal Enfield, a beautiful Indian motorcycle.
goa_enfiled
And another Indian classic, a Hero bicycle parked in a side street.
panjim_lane

Lots more sketches from India coming soon.

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in India, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sketching in Goa: Part 1

  1. What? First New York, now Goa? You are really travelling this year. There’s too much to look at here. First of all the dogs (which I thought were dead at first) are amazing. And then the assortment of vehicles. I can’t wait for the next post from Goa.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Margaret Hunt says:

    Fascinating. Great sketches. Are you painting these as you draw?!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sketchpacker says:

    Wow beautiful! Can I ask what you used for the dogs?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Shari, no more trips until Singapore 🙂 But yes, it’s been a mad few months. Margaret, I do these completely on location so I guess the answer is yes.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. subjectivebeliefs says:

    You are immensely talented.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Anil Noronha says:

    Superb – I particularly envy your command over colour ! 🙂

    Like

  7. brad young's art says:

    Very Cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Luisella valeri says:

    Happy to find you today! your sketch are fantastic and I can learn a lot from you, to see with your eyes and to smell your trip places! I wish to learn sketch first my emotions about my lovely town here in Italy! and one day voyaging…

    Like

  9. Suri says:

    Well well.. vehicles! Nicely painted! 😀

    Like

  10. Marilyn Odom says:

    I am also an artist and have SO enjoyed your travels and post! I am also a world traveler and have only put my travel pics on Facebook. You are such an inspiration to me to start sketching what I see and posting it when I travel. Thank you so much! Keep posting!!!! You are very interesting and talented!!!!!

    Like

Leave a comment