Vignettes Big and Small

Nina and I got together for a quick little chat-and-sketch at McClellan Ranch in Cupertino a few weeks ago.

In a new place, with not much time, my go-to thing to do is to sketch little vignettes. They’re small in scale, and kinda fun to build from the inside out: I start with my main subject and once I have that down, I just build out, keeping the silhouette interesting.

In both these sketches, the foliage around the buildings is at least as important to the compositions as the structures themselves.

I used a mix of media in both of these: watercolor, pen and ink, crayon and gel pen. The mix lets me get a rich textural effect.

Not all the vignette-style sketches I make are small. Sometimes I’ll employ that same idea on a bigger sketch like this, letting it grow outward but not feeling a need to stretch it to all corners of the page. This is Alamitos Creek, a neighborhood creek with a trail by it.

Vignettes like this let me sketch just a little bit of a landscape and suggest the idea of it going on and on.

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home, Everyday Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vignettes Big and Small

  1. Dana says:

    It’s very interesting to see why you put in, what you make up and what you leave put! Thanks for posting!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Suhita,

    Thank you so much for posting all your beautiful sketches!

    I’ve been cleaning out my email, and I realized that these were always going to Updates or something, so I never saw them. I’ve really been working on unsubscribing from things, and I’m used to pushing through the fear of missing out. But the thought of unsubscribing from yours made me sad, not anxious. I realized that I *wanted* to see them, I just hadn’t been able to because of how Gmail was sorting things.

    I created a filter so that they now go to my Primary tab. It has been such a joy to see your beautiful artwork and read your insightful comments. It’s a happy surprise in my inbox, an unexpected gift in the middle of slogging through all the necessary email.

    I hope everything is going great for you.

    Thanks again for sharing your work.

    Love, Keiko

    On Mon, Aug 9, 2021 at 8:26 AM Sketch Away: Travels with my sketchbook wrote:

    > Suhita Shirodkar posted: ” Nina and I got together for a quick little > chat-and-sketch at McClellan Ranch in Cupertino a few weeks ago. In a new > place, with not much time, my go-to thing to do is to sketch little > vignettes. They’re small in scale, and kinda fun to build from the” >

    Liked by 1 person

    • Keiko, thank you SO, SO much for writing in. These words mean a lot to me. I started the blog more than 10 years ago with just one purpose: to be accountable to myself and to be able to easily see how much fi was sticking to my sketching practice. Over time, I realized that my insights and learning are useful to others too. So now I write with both me and my readers in mind. So it’s really nice to hear that you get something from this. Thank you for writing in to let me know !❤️

      Like

Leave a comment