Getting back in the everyday sketching groove

Sketching when traveling is easy. Everything is new and exciting, and you want to sketch it. Coming back home and keeping up the practice takes work.
I revert to my go-to subjects, and while they are pretty critical of the results, (That might be why I’m so thick-skinned about drawing in public: “Mama, really, those lips?” and ” You really can’t draw me , can you?” are often-heard remarks) my kids are still okay with being sketched. Note my sand-filled palette. I really made a big mess when I dropped it at the beach.
KN_grey

My transition to back-at-home was eased by a visit from Marc Holmes. I had a fun day sketching and hiking with Uma Kelkar, Marc and Laurel in the hills of Almaden in South San Jose.
marc_uma

We continued the little drawings and chatting at Almaden Lake Park, where the Canada Geese are permanent residents, and over coffee at our local coffeeshop.
ducks_uma_marc

Brush pen people drawing while chatting. I just love the Pentel Pocket Brush Pen. Such a handy and versatile tool.
people_onepen

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Close to home, Everyday Sketches, people and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Getting back in the everyday sketching groove

  1. PaperKutzs says:

    Nice sketching, i need to do this too

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Barbara Beynon says:

    Love this entry! The observation that sketching while traveling is easy compared to maintaining the practice at home. Not scheduling the time is the culprit in my busy days.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve never tried brush pen, you’ve inspired me to give one a go!

    Like

  4. Shannon Brooke says:

    My son hates being sketched – I have so many pictures of him done surreptitiously. My portraits aren’t very accurate and sometimes, not very flattering. So I’ve started to call them my “Series of Unfortunate Portraits”.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. These are great sketches, I love them. I hope to learn from them too. After a lifetime of drawing I am attempting more water colour and to loosen my sketching. Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I really like your landscape painting with the tree and the clouds!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment