A colorful week

Last week I bought a small, thin-papered Fabriano book on a whim at my local art store. I Thought it might be nice to carry around a super-light book and a bunch of colored pencil for times when I knew I wouldn’t be using any water media… I tested it immediately on the way home. (Yes, on the middle spread: if the book absolutely didn’t work, then I could pull out the page easily and give my kids a blank book to draw in… I think I’m keeping the book, though.)
gunthers_fabriano

Switching gears, a couple of pieces from figure drawing last week. You can see my Derwent Colorsoft pencils are turning up everywhere.
figure

Local Color is a wonderful project based out of San Jose. The project aims to reactivate out-of-use buildings in the city and make them art hubs for the community. We visited last week and enjoyed adding to their community wall. Well, the kids added to the wall, I sketched the kids…
local_color

And then on Saturday I cleaned up and topped off my palette for a really exciting reportage project that evening.
reportage_HHPZIt turned out to be one of the most fun reportage projects I have ever worked on…More about that in my next post.

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home, Everyday Sketches, Figure Drawing, people, san jose, Silicon Valley, Supplies and Materials, tools and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A colorful week

  1. bmweeks says:

    Great post, as always. I love the idea of using the middle spread when testing a new sketchbook!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Carmela Sunnyvale says:

    Hi Suhita,
    Have been enjoying your posts on Chicago and beyond. Your new sketchbook looks like a Fabriano Eco-Qua (5.5 x 8.5 in). I’ve been using them for over 3 years and really like them for on-the-go sketches. I’ve used all kinds of media: colored pencil, Inktense watercolor pencil, water-soluble graphite, watercolor crayon (Lyra) and various pens. It even handles watercolor (not too wet) without bleeding through- it does buckle, but will dry relatively smooth. So it scans well. Good price at Blick’s online.
    Have fun!

    Like

  3. Barbara Pelly says:

    Love the sketches. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. miatagrrl says:

    I like what you’ve been doing with colored pencils! But also surprised because I would expect you to prefer watercolor pencils, which I’ve found to be more versatile, since they can be both dry or wet. Painting on the walls — how fun is that!

    – Tina

    Like

Leave a Reply

