Monday’s Mixed Bag

Last week was thin on sketches: when the temperature hits 110+, (a record for the city) you stay home and do pretty much nothing. Still, here’s a few things, mostly from before the heatwave.

Some days are better than others. But mostly it’s just a matter of how many hours you put in: drawing over and over until you can see clearly. I finally feel like I’m starting to understand how the tubing and wiring on neon signs works. And that’s what makes it possible to whip a bold sketch out in 15 minutes. I love liquor store signs, they’re the best.
big_bold_sign

From my day figure sketching. I usually prefer to do full-figure studies. Last week was unusual. You can see in that first sketch of the full pose that I got interested in a portrait, and then I did several quick takes.
portrait

In my studio right now, a commissioned portrait in progress. Not quite done yet, but close…I’m enjoying working bigger on a half sheet of Stillman & Birn’s Beta paper.
custom

A couple of small sketches. My daughter. Rainbow pencil and pen.
kavya_eye-doctor

And a cup of chai at the end of a long day. First sketch with a set of Derwent Colorsoft pencils I’m trying out.
chai

I must be in a testing-new-supplies mood because I just loaded up my new @theminipalette with  @qorwatercolors watercolors.
qor_minipalette

I’m looking forward to lots of playing and experimentation this week. And you?

Note: Since a few of you asked, here are the colors in my Tiny Palette (for now)
Top to bottom, left to right:
Viridian Green, Burnt Sienna (natural), Paynes Gray
Permanent Alizarin Crimson, Hansa Yellow Light, Phthalo Blue (Green Shade)
Quinacridone magenta, Nicel Azo Yellow, Ultramarine Blue

 

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home, Everyday Sketches, Figure Drawing, people, Portrait, reviews, supplies, Supplies and Materials, Vintage Signs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Monday’s Mixed Bag

  1. I saw those tiny 3D printed palettes in Cicago, very interesting idea! Yes practice, practice is the key!

    Like

  2. George bacich says:

    What are those colors in the tin pan?

    Like

  3. Suhita: What are the 9 Colors?
    Richard

    Like

  4. Wonderful sketches. I love QoR watercolors – vibrant colors!

    Like

Leave a Reply

