Happenings this week

In happenings this week: The tree in our front yard died. Just like that. Perhaps 6 years of drought was too much for it? It was sad to see it go. Now it sits completely cut up in our front yard, waiting for the green waste truck to pick it up.
tree-cutting

Are you stuck in a rut with sketching? Finding you’re making excuses to not be able to draw? Here’s a blogpost by Liz Steel and some thoughts on getting out of that rut. I needed this today. Lately I’ve been working towards sketching the last few signs for my Vintage Signs project. And on a 3-part class for beginning sketchers that I’ve been teaching (more on that soon).

vintage

And while I love both projects, I’ve been doing less little experimental sketches, less drawings of things that catch my eye… So today I stopped by Pete’s Coffee on my way home and did a few quick sketches of people in the store. It was fun to go straight to paint and shapes and then just add in a some line.  I didn’t really switch book, but I deliberately did this first sketch in my smaller Stillman & Birn Beta softcover book. Small vignettes are the best place to lay and try new things.
shape_big_people2This next page is back in my bigger spiral-bound Beta, but only because I was super-eager to keep going and that first spread (above) took forever to dry. That’s why I always carry around at least two books.shape_big_people1

Wet-in-wet watercolor + drawing people. Always makes me happy.

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home, Everyday Sketches, people, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happenings this week

  1. Bernadette says:

    I enjoy your work that includes people. I can see why these watercolors + people make you happy. They make me smile just looking at them! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing, great works

    Like

Leave a Reply

