Family Camp at Bass Lake: 1 of 2

I’m reluctant to say “Here are sketches of my weekend at Family Camp.” Because, while I did sketch and paint through the weekend, in no way does what you see come close to capturing the spirit of Skylake Camp. I didn’t sketch all the stuff we did: kayak, canoe, make tie-dye tshirts, swim in the lake, make smores, do puzzles, ride horses… the list goes on.

Instead, I mostly tried doing what I find hard: Painting the landscape. Give me an urban setting and I’m right at home. But calm, serene landscapes are hard for me to capture!

This one’s my first take on Bass Lake. Blue-green pine, and a haze in the distance from a forest fire. In the mid-distance, the camp’s own dock on the lake. Sadly, lots of browns too: there’s a beetle killing of lots of pine trees in the area, a side-effect of the long drought we had here in California.
basslake_lake1

Two different takes on practically the same scene. One more successful than the other, but it was nice to try this two ways.
basslake_lake3
basslake_lake5

me_photo_basslakesketch
That’s me, the magenta dot in this photo, sitting on the shore, sketching. More from our idyllic weekend away coming soon.

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Paintings, Summer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Family Camp at Bass Lake: 1 of 2

  1. M. L. Kappa says:

    You’ve not done too badly, Suhita! Must have been a fun weekend!

    Like

  2. Your paintings are beautiful! Glad you had so much fun with your family. Your kids must be going back to school soon.

    Like

  3. Always good to do what you find hard!

    Like

  4. Bernadette says:

    Thanks for sharing what you find difficult….it encourages me to reach out of my comfort zone. How can we grow if we do not try! I think the first landscape is lovely and I like how a little line work in #2 helped capture the essence of the scene. Very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the second one down, you really captured the movement in the trees with your black ink! Looks like a fun trip…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

