Cat sketching

I’ve been cat-sketching a lot lately. Some at a cat cafe (have you heard of the concept?) here in San Jose called The Dancing Cat.  These had to be quick sketches. Cats that don’t know you don’t like to be still when you’re near them.
dancing_cat1

dancing_cat2dancing_cat3dancing_cat4

And some sketches at home. One of my cats, Moshi, makes a good model. She sleeps in my studio a lot, so it’s kinda like working on a still life.
cat2
Below is Moshi caught napping (again) while I test some new goodies: a set of QoR watercolors I received in Chicago along with a LYRA graphite stub. Also, a new opaque white I’m liking a lot : Winsor & Newton’s white gouache.cat_qor

That’s it for my week. Happy friday!

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Animals, california, Close to home, Everyday Sketches, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cat sketching

  1. Katie Kuo says:

    I love this, cats make such lovely models. Reminds me of Nancy Tichborne and her waterpainting book on cats

    Like

  2. littlecarrie says:

    Love your cat sketches, Suhita! I have two cats at home myself and have sketched my Ruby countless times since she naps – or fall into food comas – frequently.

    Carrie

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You’ve caught the cats’ personalities. Much fun.

    Like

  4. gail s jones says:

    Lovely sketching!!!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

