Kauai: Flora and Fauna

If I were to spend a week sketching in Hawaii by myself, you might see a beach sketch or two. But what you’d mostly see is vegetation. I love the way trees and plants seem to grow an inch a day here.

One of my favorite trees is the Monkey Pod Tree. Growing up in India I called this tree a Rain Tree. It grows many places, including in temperate climates like where I live in San Jose, California. But give it warm weather and it really grows large.
monkeypodtree

These Monstera plants grow anywhere. I think I need one in my home to make it feel a little more tropical.
monstera

This sketch of my kids at the cottage we rented, playing cards on the daybed is my favorite sketch from the trip. It really speaks to the lazy vacation we had. Loved that the view from the window was all-palms.
cards

Beach sketches coming up in my next post, but this one kinda fits this post. Do you know what these trees are called? They have thick, oval leaves and I’ve seen them in other warm-climate beaches like in Costa Rica…This is Anini Beach on the North Shore of Kauai
beach-tree

Here are my Kauai posts so far:

Part 1: Kauai, First Impressions

Part 2: Kauai in black and white

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kauai: Flora and Fauna

  1. These are really beautiful, Suhita, a bit more than sketches. Excellent compositions and wonderful colors and the flavor of Kauai. I also love the one of your kids, just having fun together.

    Like

  2. Elena says:

    In the Caribbean they are called Sea Grape Trees.

    Like

  3. Bernadette says:

    How wonderful that you are able to share this trip with your children. They will forever remember this time of play and painting. Your work is such a great recording of shared experiences. I love the last image of the hammock. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

