Do, Take Notes, Redo

While I’m on the subject of doing something over and over, here’s another piece in the same genre. This one, from a photo reference by my friend, the photographer Ajay Bhaskar.

As soon as I figured I wasn’t happy with my first take I marked up some things I wished I’d done differently: notes for my next take.
boatman_ajay1
Nothing stops you from trying to ‘salvage’ a piece like writing notes all over it. Thank you Tom Hoffmann.) Especially when you’re working in watercolors, salvaging doesn’t work so well…

Here’s take 2.
boatman_ajay2
I’m happier with this one, and did manage to work in some of my notes from that first piece. I also ended up losing some bits I liked, (most notably the light on the top rim of the boat) but I did like the better articulated figures and the greyer colors here.

 

 

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Paintings, people and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do, Take Notes, Redo

  1. Bernadette says:

    Thanks for sharing this post. I have had many unsuccessful attempts so continued to try to salvage in beginning a new painting of the same image. Never wrote notes over my “unsuccessful” piece but just started fresh mindful of my mistakes. I imagine the notes would be very helpful even if not on the painting but on a notebook perhaps. Recently I painted our magnolia tree when it was in bloom…6x’s over the course of a week. I appreciate this exercise and will try to put it in practice.

    Like

  2. I loved the first take until I saw the second and decided I loved it even better. Great lesson about improvement, Suhita.

    Like

Leave a Reply

