Seattle, Part 1 of 2

I was in Seattle over the weekend to teach two workshops. And what a weekend it was! Spectacular sunny days that made me suspect that all that Payne’s Grey weather Seattle is said to have is just a rumor Seattleites spread to keep the rest of us away! I started my Friday morning with some location scouting and warm-up sketching at my workshop location, Pike Place Market.

The Gum Wall was slightly gross, but fun to draw. It’s a long, dark alleyway with a lot of cat drawings and huge amounts of gum. I had to wait a long time before I saw someone stick a piece of gum up on the wall. Most people just come through and take photographs.
gum_wall

How could I not draw the famous Fish Stand? That’s the great thing about being in a new place: you can be unabashedly touristy.
public_market2

And a few brush-pen drawings from around the market. This man selling balloons: I could swear he was in this very same spot when I visited almost 8 years ago. And the Pike Place Pig is never without a bunch of people posing for photos.
pikw_place1

The quickest of sketches from an afternoon with Gabi Campanario after we got a quick little tour of the Steamer, the Virginia V.
boats.jpg.And a few photos from my workshop. I never remember to take any, so thank you Gail Wong for taking some and sending them my way. I am always amazed when people come out and enthusiastically draw in the super-crowded locations. I love that they just plop onto sidewalks anywhere and squeeze into little corners and even the shyest of them throws caution to the winds and sketches people up close.
seattle_class_photo10Can you spot the sketcher sketching the musicians?
seattle_class_photo1.jpg
And a little bit of quiet as we review our sketches in the atrium, “under the squid”.
seattle_class_photo6

I’m leaving you with a quick brush pen sketch of that squid sculpture hanging in the atrium
squid.jpg
And the demo piece I did in the market.
public_market3

More from Seattle soon…

 

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Seattle, teaching, Uncategorized, Workshop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Seattle, Part 1 of 2

  1. TBWhittArt says:

    I love all of you sketches, the lines, the colors you use. I look forward to seeing more.

    Like

  2. miatagrrl says:

    Oh, man. . . Sure wish I had been there! The Market was made for you to sketch! 😉

    – Tina

    Liked by 1 person

  3. D. Abreu says:

    The sketches are awesome Suhita! I wish I could have been there. Im only 50 miles south east of Seattle. I learn so much from your style. The freedom in your lines helps me feel ok with my style which is also free and has a life of its own. Thank you Suhita!

    Like

  4. Joanna Guglielmino says:

    Thank you, Suhita, for coming to Seattle for the 10 x 10 Sketching the Crowd! I really enjoyed the class, although I confess I will need much work to improve my sketches of crowds! Your enthusiasm is contagious, so I won’t give up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

