Painting with Tom Hoffmann, again: 2 of 3

The Marin Headlands were a challenge to paint: at once both simple in shape yet so atmospheric… and then, there was the wind!
TomHoffman_2017_photo4.jpg

I painted #1 and #2 in parallel.
headland_study1.jpg

headland_study2

Attempt #3 (below) was painted because I wasn’t so happy with the cliff faces in the two above. I wanted them to read more vertical, more distinct in feel from the green tops.

headland_study3

I promised myself I’d attempt to work in atleast one person into a piece, so I did one more very quick little study on hot press paper. Note to self: If you’re trying to work wet-in-wet, stick with cold press paper, hot press paper dries out way quicker.
artist-study

Here’s my post about Day 1 of the workshop.
Tom’s website is here.

Day 3, coming up soon!

 

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Paintings, san franciso and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Painting with Tom Hoffmann, again: 2 of 3

  1. Laura Gilmore says:

    Beautiful work! Your palette and brush strokes definitely captured that atmospheric quality so unique to the Headlands.

    Like

  2. maylynno says:

    I love these paintings.. they could be a good idea for postcards

    Like

  3. M. L. Kappa says:

    I’m very impressed- it looks freezing out there!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. nayemmahade says:

    its a good job.you are great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

