Day 1, #oneweek100people2017

Today is Day 1 of the #oneweek100people2017 challenge. I did more than 20 sketches today, I think. (I’m not numbering and counting) But that’s because I know tomorrow is going to be a busier day… I’ll probably go really simple tomorrow and do quick gesture drawings. And I think that’s part of the learning from a challenge: How to do you anticipate and work with what you’ve got? Given the time you can make in the day, what tools will you use, and what aspect of people sketching will you focus on?

I’m posting my sketches all day on instagram @suhitasketch, but here’s a couple of my favorites from today.

This guy was reading a newspaper. That’s such a rare sight these days when everyone is on their smartphone. So I figured I had to sketch him. Drawing in watersoluble pencil (you can see how I greyed out some stuff by running water over my lines) and watercolor.

people_day1_1

I drew people for a while but eventually I got bored of drawing just random passing people all over the page and I did this sketch at Whole Foods Grocery store. A bold foreground, remembering to work in layers and adding in people in the distance: those are some things I work with when building a sketch like this.
people_day1_2.jpg

I collect far too many art books. Some I just look at for inspiration, some I read. I thought I’d post a few of them this week. Here’s one of my favorites.

people_day1_book

This book is life drawing: how to portray the figure with accuracy and expression. By Robert Barrett. And the bit at the bottom is one of my favorite parts where the author talks about the importance of exaggeration.

I can’t promise anything as ambitious as this on day 2, but I’m still looking forward to it…I hope you’re sketching too!

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home, Everyday Sketches, people, Silicon Valley and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 1, #oneweek100people2017

  1. 28pwilson says:

    I love to see the ink drawing prior to adding watercolor. Beautiful. What type of pen did you use on this one? Wonderful variety of line. I’m going to remember ‘work in layers’.

    Like

  2. miatagrrl says:

    Glad to see you’re having fun too! I got to 28 today in 50 minutes, but tomorrow I’ll have more time, so I hope to cram in quite a few. I’m using only a brush pen and a pocket-size sketchbook.

    Tina

    Like

  3. beautiful……. love these….

    Like

  4. Anindya says:

    Nice sketches. ..even though i don’t know the technicalities but appreciate these nice sketches. .😊

    Like

  5. rosjenke says:

    Love that guy reading the paper 👍 your sketches are always a delight to view. I’m keeping up so far, using the week to try different techniques and media. Probably not a good idea as it’s taking more time than I intended.

    Like

  6. Nancy Armitage says:

    Wondering if you could comment on how you sift down a scene into sketch.

    Like

  7. It amazes me how much you capture with such quick drawings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

