Plugging On

A recent post from John Muir Laws titled The Enemy of the Good: moving beyond perfectionism has been an open tab in my browser for the last couple of weeks, and I’ve re-read it a few times. It couldn’t be more well timed. It’s been a crazy few weeks and promises to get crazier. And as I work through the last few commissions of the year and ship them out in time for the holidays, sketching takes a back seat.

Looking back at last week, there’s not much of note that got sketched. Still, I did put pen to paper. So here is last week, in sketches.

Last week’s figure drawing session.
figure_sketching

And a few little sketches of my son. Yes, he did need a haircut. And he got one. Well, a trim, anyways.
nishant

I like pen and paper better than digital media. And conversation is a lot nicer than smartphone and screens.
wine

Some days days, I’m too tired to think of something to draw, but I still miss putting pen to paper. This spread of random figures from a magazine belonged to a day like that.
magazines

It wasn’t all work this week, though. This is Jeffrey Halford and the Healers singing the Blues at Poor House Bistro in San Jose on Saturday night.
blues_jeffrey_halford_small

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home, Everyday Sketches, Figure Drawing, people, san jose, Silicon Valley, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Plugging On

  1. Much energy and excitement in your art – it’s always a pleasure to linger over your sketches.

    Like

  2. I tried to follow your teaching and draw skaters… they are so difficult! Any tips?

    Like

    • Laura, are you talking about the craftsy class? Have you tried sung lesson 2 to work through drawing skaters ( assuming you’re some place with a lot of skaters and you can use different people to complete a figure?

      Like

  3. miatagrrl says:

    These are marvelous! Looks like you did quite a bit of drawing, to me!

    Tina

    Like

    • Thanks Tina, given how quickly I draw these don’t add up to very much sketching time at all. But I do sketch between things, like when I finish my breakfast and the kids are only halfway through and I sit around and chat with them… I’ll draw.

      Like

  4. Marlene Lee says:

    “Putting pen to paper no matter what

    Like

Leave a Reply

