Selective Color

Many days, the furtherest I can get from home is my local Starbucks.And I think “Yet another Starbucks sketch?” But everyday is different. And different things catch my eye on different days. Selective color helps keep these two impressions very different from each other, even though they are sketched only a couple of days apart.

A busy weekday morning at Starbucks. I guess it was my first time in since the store turned ‘all red’ for the holidays. Black ink line and two red colored pencils were all I used.
red_starbucks_coffee

And a rainy dark Sunday evening where it seemed to me that everyone just stared at their screens, their faces reflecting the blue light. Black ink line. Cool tones in watercolor for all the screens, and a warmish backdrop to accentuate the eerie blues.
blue_starbucks_coffee

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Close to home, Drink, Everyday Sketches, Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Selective Color

  1. Love your work, keep looking forward to your sketches

    Like

  2. I often have the ‘not another cafe sketch’ feeling but as long as you are sketching then the location isn’t important 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

