Will you #inktober ?

It’s almost October, time for a InkTober .

Have you participated before? Will you be doing it again? I’m going to, and while I might not end up doing one every day, Inktober is a good reason for me to focus on pen and ink, and work with it.

Here’s what the creator of Inktober, Jake Parker, has to say about it:

I created InkTober in 2009 as a challenge to improve my inking skills and develop positive drawing habits. It has since grown into a worldwide endeavor with thousands of artists taking on the challenge every year.

Anyone can do InkTober, just pick up a pen and start drawing.

While the official rules (below) say you must post a drawing a day, I’ve found that just doing as many as I can and posting them helps.

ink

Here’s some early-for-Inktober work from this week.
inktober_early_kn
inktober_early_sofa

That’s iron gall ink from Goulet Pens. Almost black when laid down thick, but a lovely purple when you brush some water over it. (while it’s still wet)

Not ready to do the challenge yet? How about looking at some inspiring work in ink? Some of my favorite artists to follow on instagram ( that work a lot with ink): @paulheaston , @ninaapplepine , @kiahkiean , @lizsteelart , @fredlynchart , @aheavysoul and so many more… I’ll be posting my inktober sketches on instagram @suhitasketch and here on the blog once a week.

Happy inking! More about Inktober here.

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Collage, Doodles, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Will you #inktober ?

  1. This is a superb idea but i can’t make drawing like that! 😔😔 these are great!!

    Like

  2. Hannah Read says:

    I am doing it for the first time this year – v. excited!

    Like

  3. Jen Grove says:

    I’m on for it. I’ve known about it for a few years but this year will join in..looking forward to seeing some great drawings!

    Like

  4. I will give it a try. I am still trying to figure out my parameters – if any. Like “use only Pentel Pocket Brush” or “use only fountain pen” or “sketch only people”. I picked a smallish size sketchbook – 4×6 Pentallic – so it is easier to make a spread a day. I will also be travelling to Barcelona – it remains to be seen if travelling helps or hinders the process.

    Like

  5. MAGNY TJELTA says:

    I love the way you do your ink drawing, great job

    Like

  6. Hi Suhita – the Mumbai Urban Sketchers and I are having a go this year. Good fun

    Like

Leave a Reply

