Impressions of Italy: Bridges and Canals

Bridges and Canals, from all over Venice. No, I did not like the crowds, but if I got out early enough to sketch, before the crowds came out, or walked away from all the action into the labyrinth of little alleys, I did find some really lovely places to sit and draw.

At the Rialto, where it’s never ever quiet. I talked to a 4th generation gondolier who described a lovely Venice from ages ago, so deserted in the winter months the gondoliers had no work then.
canal4bridge1

canal1

And the Bridge of Sighs, another uber-popular spot in the city.
canal5bridge2

And two sketches from our front door. It’s convenient when you can sketch right where you are.
canal2

canal3

And finally, this one from a quiet spot. I love how the gondoliers bend away from and push hard with their single paddle.
canal6bridge3

 

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Italy, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Impressions of Italy: Bridges and Canals

  1. Lynda Stewart says:

    Such beautiful sketches. Makes me want to visit this place. Note to self try the off season for tourists.

    Like

  2. Margaret Hunt says:

    Gorgeous!!!

    Like

  3. Oh, these are beautiful, liquid, light-filled drawings!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lee Kline says:

    Ahhhh, Suhita. You make me want to go back there.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. D. Abreu says:

    Love these sketches! I wish I was a sketcher when I visited Italy 20 years ago! This is priceless! Daisy

    Like

  6. Jane Kriss says:

    These are so wonderful, Suhita! We’re going for a week at the end of this month 🙂

    Like

  7. Vina says:

    I may not have to go to Venice, these could serve me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

