Impressions of Italy: There are domes and then there’s Duomo

My last post was about my fascination with domes. But of all the domes out there, the most fascinating one, the one you can never get away from anywhere in Florence is the one simply called Duomo. It is extraordinary in scale and the story of how it came to be built is amazing.

If you are anywhere in the city of Florence, you orient yourself by that dome. Here it is viewed from pretty close to the base.
duomo_closeup

And from a hillside across the river,this Florence at sunset with that distinctive dome.
duomo_sunset

Glimpsed and sketched again from a window at the Uffizi…
duomo_small

And one more view of it, seen over rooftops.
duomo_rooftops

 

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Italy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Impressions of Italy: There are domes and then there’s Duomo

  1. Carlo says:

    The cathedral of Florence is really majestic. I live in Florence and each time I am surprised

    Like

  2. rosjenke says:

    Great sketches but that last one, minimal with magic pencil is magic.

    Like

  3. I was there last Sept and I can’t believe you tackled the Duomo from up close and distance. It’s so overwhelming in person, and with all the crowds and heat and all. Bravo! I got it all through your sketches. Makes me want to go back and give it another try. . .(when it’s cooler and fewer tourists, that is)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lee Kline says:

    Lovely work, as always. Suhita, I hope you got to go up inside the dome.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Susan Hancey says:

    Hi Suhita-

    Will you be letting us know if we were able to get into your SF workshop? I am so anxious to get it on to my calendar!

    Thanks Susan

    On Fri, Aug 26, 2016 at 2:00 AM, Sketch Away: Travels with my sketchbook wrote:

    > Suhita Shirodkar posted: “My last post was about my fascination with > domes. But of all the domes out there, the most fascinating one, the one > you can never get away from anywhere in Florence is the one simply called > Duomo. It is extraordinary in scale and the story of how it came ” >

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Susan, I don’t have email from you requesting you be in the workshop… and that workshop is full. There’s another one added for the 23rd, in Berkeley. Check the workshops page ( https://sketchaway.wordpress.com/workshops/ ) and if it works for you, email me at suhita@gmail.com and I’ll send you a form.

    Like

Leave a Reply

