Taking a break in Kendal

To take a break from the red brick of Manchester, I hopped on a train with sketcher friends from California, and visited the market town of Kendal on the banks of the river Kent. Kendal is a market town built on wool weaving and dyeing. It had everything: a castle, lovely narrow Yards that ran like labyrinths all through the town, fabulous gardens, panoramic views, bridges, tea rooms ( yes always important) and of course chimneys. Too much to sketch in a half day. And you’ll see I didn’t get far.

My chimney obsession continues.
kendal_1_chimeny.jpg

With a break to draw the bustling life on High Street.
kendal_1_highstreet

Then it was back to chimney pots.
kendal_2b_chimeny
Our hosts Lynda and Christine (the urban sketching community is amazing, everywhere you go there’s a friendly urban sketcher willing to show you their town) took us to a lovely tea place. Again, no photos, no sketching, too busy eating.
And then we had time for one last sketch before we caught our train back to Manchester. Here I try capturing how the streets in Kendal are all sloping. Sketching all the people that populate this space not only makes the scene come alive, it also helps define the space.
kendal_3_street

And since I sketched so very little of this amazing town, I’ll leave you with some photographs of things I wish I’d sketched. And of our merry band of sketchers from that day.
kendal_photo

Back to more Manchester sketches tomorrow.

 

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in manchester, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Taking a break in Kendal

  1. zuzala says:

    Love the High street sketch! May I ask what color and brand you are using for your sky? (In my browser), the color is perfect! TIA. Sz

    Like

    • Thank you, I rarely have a single-color in a sky, even pretty flat colored California blue-skies. There’s Winsor and Newton’s Cerulean blue (red shade) in this sky for sure. But also mixed in is an ochre, a purple and probably a darker blue too.

      Like

  2. Eric says:

    Beautiful impressions!

    Like

  3. LauraLu says:

    I so love your sketching and placement and use of watercolors – wow! I want to paint like you ☺️
    Thanks so much for sharing. It’s fun following your posts. I am so glad I subscribed. I am really enjoying this. Thanks again!

    Like

  4. KB Garst says:

    Lovely! I literally have just started sketching last week. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  5. Judi says:

    From one sketchers to another I love your sketch style. When you come to Oregon, let me know and we’ll sketch some pretty places.

    Like

Leave a Reply

