Manchester 2016 : Almost there!

Tomorrow is the start of the 7th International Symposium in Manchester.. so exciting! I’ve been in the city for a couple of days watching people trickle in, meeting old friends, making new ones, checking out my workshop location, doing some test sketches, and trying to wrap my head around the huge brickwork and limestone buildings all over the city.

If you’re in the city, I hope we get to meet…If you’re not, these sketches and photos are so you can share in the excitement.

My workshop location is at the grand Central Library building. You’ll see lots more sketches of it over the next few days of workshops, but I’m hoping to do a different demo everyday to keep it fresh. Here’s two sketchesof it with people passing by.

central_library

Just behind the library at Albert Square. Beer, street food and Jazz at the Manchester Jazz Festival.
manchester_jazz

Everywhere you look, there’s buildings in red brick and limestone. Here are just a few,all with really quaint names.
globe_insurance
sinclairs-pub
clock1.jpg

The rain is never far away in Manchester, and you have to be ready to run for shelter if you  are going to stand int he street and sketch, like I was doing in the sketch below. The nice thing is, it’s an excuse to duck into a teashop anytime. And, I’m getting to use all sorts of colors in the sky: a real change from the clear blue California summer sky I’m used to painting.bridge

Today Phil Griffin was brave enough to take a whole busload of sketchers on an architectural tour of Manchester: the football stadiums, the mills, the garment district and the ship canals. I told him my great grandfather studied in Manchester in the early 1900s, but I couldn’t trace the building, and he quickly figured that the building had been renamed and pointed it out to me on our tour.
phil_architecture

Evenings are Drink & Draw sessions: This one at the Peveril of the Peak.
peveril_pub1
drindraw3

Best of all is sharing a city with hundreds of sketchers all crazy enough to sketch all day long. But I have been so busy saying my hellos I’ve forgotten to take pictures. I’ll try to remember tomorrow, when it all begins.

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in manchester, reportage, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Manchester 2016 : Almost there!

  1. Thanks so much, love being there via your posts, have a great time!

    Like

  2. bmweeks says:

    Marvelous sketches! Wish I were there.

    Like

  3. D. Abreu says:

    Fun sketches! I love how you draw, always full of life and energy.

    Like

  4. lackerley says:

    Fantastic to see your amazing work capturing Manchester and so looking forward to meeting you!

    Like

  5. TheArtistOnTheRoad says:

    Wow, these are great Suhita! Can’t wait to see more of the Manchester sketches!

    Like

  6. Bella says:

    Love your sketches, wish I could have gone to Manchester and been a part of it all. Looking forward to more sketches and photos. Thank you for sharing it.

    Like

  7. Tejay says:

    I would love to be with you but live too far away in the south of England. I have been following your blog for some time and love the vitality. Enjoy your stay.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. lise says:

    Great! I like your style so much … good idea three colours pencil … free line and form … your sketch look like a dance … smooth, and just the essentiel … very light … have a nice symposium … I fellow you with pleasure from Quebec ….

    Liked by 1 person

  9. rosjenke says:

    Your sketches are so full of life, light and colour. Thanks for taking us along with you, so we can share the excitement.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Tony Cook says:

    Thank you for this virtual tour of my home town (from which I emigrated 60-odd years ago). Wish I was there now to join in the sketching experience.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Donna Vaughan says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this experience. Your sketches are always, always wonderful and your enthusiasm is so contagious. I wish I were there!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Kiki says:

    I LOVE Manchester but have never seen in sketches – beautiful and refreshing perspective!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. wendymuldon says:

    Gorgeous artworks! It really looks you are enjoying the city ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

