Lazy Backyard time with my parents

My parents visited from India. The one thing we do everyday is share an evening drink together in the backyard. My dad is a scotch and soda kind of guy. My mum downs her Sprite in no time and everyone else is more variable in their choice of drink for the evening. pama_3

Mostly we’re lounging and chatting, which makes for easy sketching, but not much action. People come and go… My sister in the upper sketch is substituted by my son in the sketch below.
pama_2.jpg

Mostly, the kids come with their permanent summer appendage: a book.
nish_chair

Every once in a while, it’s nice to put away my watercolors and work in a different medium. Colored pencils is particular favorite. I love the direct, more ‘blocked in color’ approach they force me to take. It helps me look closely at shapes and layout.

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home, san jose, Silicon Valley, Summer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lazy Backyard time with my parents

  1. I love these. Your drawing is as relaxed as your parents in the chairs. Uncharacteristic for you!

    Like

  2. nancy@isleofhope.org says:

    Love these backyard sketches.  I’m using colored pencils too (but not so well as you). Easy to carry.  I have way too many. I became a gin-tonic drinker when I lived in India, but most  of my Indian friends who drink prefer Scotch!  If they say “whiskey” that’s what they mean.  Nancy Cunningham (in Savannah Georgia).

    From: Sketch Away: Travels with my sketchbook To: nancy@isleofhope.org Sent: Friday, July 22, 2016 5:01 AM Subject: [New post] Lazy Backyard time with my parents #yiv5221783984 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv5221783984 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv5221783984 a.yiv5221783984primaryactionlink:link, #yiv5221783984 a.yiv5221783984primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv5221783984 a.yiv5221783984primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv5221783984 a.yiv5221783984primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv5221783984 WordPress.com | Suhita Shirodkar posted: “My parents visited from India. The one thing we do everyday is share an evening drink together in the backyard. My dad is a scotch and soda kind of guy. My mum downs her Sprite in no time and everyone else is more variable in their choice of drink for the” | |

    Like

  3. rhodadraws says:

    Nice to see kids reading actual books, instead of glued to screens!

    Like

  4. Satch & Pat says:

    I really love seeing your sketches and appreciate all of the tips you pass along. It’s raining here on our island north of Seattle, so maybe I’ll go to the coffee shop and sketch.

    Thank you for sharing yourself.

    Pat

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  5. Lee Kline says:

    Well done! So difficult to draw and portray the ones we love. Hard to catch that objectivity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

