(More) People First

Still in workshop-prep mode for my workshop in Manchester where we’ll learn to build complex scenes with people in them, using contrasting styles and media in a single sketch.

Here’s another sketch on a theme I discussed recently in this post : People First.

taco_restaurant_3step

There are so many reasons to draw people in first:
1) They may be there when you start sketching but may not stay.
2) People are intimidating to draw. For most of us. And the longer we put off drawing them, the more reluctant we become to draw them in.

If you look at the image above, you’ll see I started by sketching people in pencil. I had just got down to beginning inking when the woman standing in the sketch appeared. So I quickly grabbed back my pencil and sketched here in. I like to keep my process fluid that way: it lets me capture quick fleeting things and add them to my sketch.

With this sketch, it was all about the vibrant setting, and the people were just about the quietest part of the sketch. Graphite seemed like a good choice for them, with pen & ink and bold color for the interior of the taqueria.

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home, people, teaching, Workshop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

