Swim Meet Sketches

Swim Meet Sketches. Funnily, for someone who loves to stand in the middle of a busy street and sketch, I don’t enjoy being at large organized events with a lot of people: big weddings, huge parties, swim meets… Sketching makes it easier to be there – I get to stand back and observe, and draw. Which is always fun.

This sketch is me observing the observers: This is the Announcer’s Booth. Standing in front of the announcer , who watches every race very closely is the guy who blows the whistle for the start of the race. And next to him is the photographer. And then there are all the families gathered around the pool. All watching the action in the pool.swim_meet2

This is the tent where the Clerk-of-the-Course stands. The scene is always chaotic, with swimmers checking in and lining up for their races. It’s interesting to watch a  bunch of people forced to be in close proximity: some chat, some clown around and some stand aloof in the middle of all the chaos.swim_meet1

Here are sketches from a different week of swim meet. Much less time to sketch this week, and much quicker sketches. Starting in brushpen is my favorite very-fast way to sketch. With a super-short sketch, I never know how long I’ll have, so brushpen does the essential capture of the first gesture, and then I layer on other media depending on how long I have. Graphite pencil, watercolor, crayon and colored pencil all make their work into these pieces.
swimmeet_almadendolphins1

swimmeet_almadendolphins2

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home, people, Silicon Valley and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Swim Meet Sketches

  1. Andrea R Huelsenbeck says:

    I love the energy in the crouched figures.

    Like

  2. Kiki says:

    I’m so glad I discovered your blog – I can’t draw for the life of me and really admire your talent! I particularly like these swim sketches because I love the colours you used.

    Like

  3. murray says:

    Great series Suhita!

    Like

  4. Deborah Hopkins says:

    Suhita – I love the “line of action” you’ve captured with the white line on the bottom figure. Remembering what you taught us at your workshop last fall. Have a memorable & safe trip to Manchester. Enjoy, Deborah

    Like

Leave a Reply

