Red, White and Blue

There’s nothing particularly Fourth of July about these sketches, but they’re too perfectly color-themed to not be posted this weekend.

I can’t say I know what this pencil was originally designed for, but I’ve seen it reviewed as a pencil used by carpenters, engineers and dentists. Go figure. What I do know is that it is lovely to draw with, and I’m having a lot of fun with it.KN-redblue

Limited colors and fun tools have been the theme of what I’ve been working with for a while now. I plan to take a bunch of these and my rainbow pencils along for my workshop in Manchester this summer.

Here’s another red-blue pencil sketch. I drew in the basic figure and shadows with a soft graphite pencil to begin with. That left me free to play with the pattern of the dress with my new pencil. The nice thing about working that first step quickly is that if my ‘model’ were to leave, I’d still have a meaningful sketch. The longer she stays the more I can build on my basic graphite sketch. The red-blue pencil was followed up with some pen and then a white colored pencil.

red_blue_sundress_step1red_blue_sundress

 

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Red, White and Blue

  1. joreimer says:

    When I was a schoolgirl in the 40s and 50s the red blue pencils were used by teachers to grade papers.

    Like

  2. cathy mcauliffe says:

    Check the site of this great stkore in NYC that I have just heard about. It’s on my list to visit!
    http://cwpencils.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

