No lines

Once in a while I try to work with no lines, building a piece from bigger forms to littler ones. It’s great practice for me since line dominates much of my work. So far, I’ve found it’s easiest for me to work like this with landscapes or still life, and much harder to with urban sketching especially with people in the sketch.

So here again is a favorite subject to sketch without lines: a view of Mount Umunhum from my neighborhood.
umunhum_full

I did most of this line-free, but then you can see in this detail that I went back in with a graphite pencil and with white and blue colored pencil for some last details.
umunhum_detail

 

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home, san jose and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No lines

  1. janecrathern says:

    I love Emile Nolde’s looks watercolour sketches of figures. He drops in large washes corresponding to the big shapes, then later goes in with line. Very expressive and beautiful.

    Like

  2. Lee Kline says:

    Suhita, this is exactly how I encourage people to get over their fear of perspective. All of the Horizon Line, Vanishing Point, Linear Perspective stuff is fine, but I have found that if I encourage my students to draw the shapes within buildings and relate them to each other, perspective often resolves itself. Love your work.

    Like

  3. Excellent sketches of Mount Umunhum. Keep them coming! We’ll feature them on our Facebook page. https://www.facebook.com/MountUmunhum

    Like

Leave a Reply

