Coffee Shop Sketching

The thing about sketching at one of my local coffee shops is that I know the places well from having sketched there often and there’s nothing terribly new or exotic about them. While it’s exciting to sketch something you’ve never seen before, drawing something over and over means you’re forced to try new stuff with it, change things around a little every time, and really dig deep to see something a little differently each time you draw. Sometimes, I sketch with a plan to do something different. And sometimes I just change up a tool or a medium and end up in a slightly different place.

I’ll post some of my coffee shop sketches over the next few days. All of them share something in common but are approached a little bit differently each time.

I didn’t do anything really new with this sketch, I just didn’t take my watercolors along, which is rare for me. So this is pen and ink and colored pencil on tan Strathmore paper.
starbucks1a

I find that with colored pencils, I tend to use color quite differently from watercolors. For lack of a better description, I think I use them more symbolically, less realistically: all the greens say ‘Starbucks’. All they yellows speak to either the overhead light bathing the interior or when mixed with ruddier colors, to skin tones.The image is flatter, more graphic and less about depth and distance created with color.

starbucks1b

Drawing from this angle was all about capturing the busyness of the baristas and the energy of the place. With it’s constant flow of customers, the place runs like a well-oiled machine.

More coffee shop sketches, coming tomorrow.

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home, san jose, Silicon Valley and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coffee Shop Sketching

  1. wendymuldon says:

    Looks so fun and relaxed! Love this!

    Like

  2. Lee Kline says:

    Very helpful info and advice, Suhita.

    Like

Leave a Reply

