Fancy Cars

Can you tell that the people fascinated me a lot more than the cars at this fancy car event at Santana Row in San Jose? They posed by the cars, photographed them, peered into their interiors and rhapsodized about this model versus that.

I drew in a very loose sketch of the car directly in color to ‘place’ it in my scene and then went right ahead and captured people interacting with it before coming back in to add some details to the car.santana_car_orangeprocess

santana_car_1

santana_car_3santana_car_4

Thanks Uma Kelkar for organizing the outing!

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home, san jose, Silicon Valley and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fancy Cars

  1. Fabulous technique in your sketching – very dynamic!

    Like

  2. very cool……I love this!

    Like

  3. Judith says:

    Wow…. this is a fantastic style! Thank you so much!

    Like

  4. TheArtistOnTheRoad says:

    I love what you are doing here Suhita! That bottom car sketch is killer with all the angles and colors. So much energy. And I love the overlaying line drawings of the people over the painted car. Cool!

    Like

  5. gippyhenry7 says:

    Love this! Really great work. Love looking at sketching especially when it is done well.

    Like

  6. miatagrrl says:

    Oh, I just saw your post on USk, and now I love seeing the additional process steps here!

    Tina

    Like

    • Thanks Tina, all part of the process I’m working with for my class in Manchester. The biggest feedback/question I got last year with gestural people drawing was “how do I incorporate these loose gestural figures into my more complete sketches”… so we’ll do that this year 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

