Lemon.

This is a really tiny piece, 4 inches square. Painted on a very small 4×6 Fluid watercolor pad I’ve had for a while but haven’t used much. 10 minutes on a rainy day, testing some new colors, painting the first thing I  found on my kitchen counter: a lemon.

2 passes at this. I can’t call them glazes because I didn’t wait for pass#1 to dry before adding in pass #2.

Here is what went in first.
lemon1inprogress

And then the rest: the detailing in watercolors, a little bit of line in ink and some white gouache, all on a sort-of wet base.
lemon1

These are the 4 main colors I used: The New Gamboge is new to my palette as is the Transparent Pyrrol Orange, which I am loving: you can see it in action in that shadow. And my blues, I just love these two blues: The French Ultramarine is a favorite with almost everyone who uses watercolors, but the Cerulean Blue (Red Shade) is less popular because it is opaque. I tend to love how it has the ability to push other colors aside and granulate: see how adding a bit of both my blues to the shadow on pass#2 pushes aside the first wash of colors?lemon_colors

That’s my rainy day lemon sketch, with a blog post that took longer to put together than the sketch!

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Food, How to, tools and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lemon.

  1. morningside5 says:

    Hi, I am new to your blog and love it! I also,love Daniel Smith watercolors! They are the best I have used! Best, Susan McCreight

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

  2. Gabriella says:

    I love that! Thank you for showing what colors you used.

    Like

  3. Margaret Hunt says:

    Yum yum. Lovely shadows and the lemons not bad either. Love that pyrrole orange. Pyrrole is such a beautiful color. Use it all the time when I paint acrylics. Now trying to resist the call of amazon to order the orange one.

    Like

  4. Sarah says:

    Reblogged this on The Adventures of the Average American and commented:
    So cute!

    Like

Leave a Reply

