Isla Mujeres

Isla Mujeres is beautiful, just like every tourist guidebook will tell you. It has the finest, whitest sand I’ve every seen and the ocean is a beautiful gorgeous color.

It’s just that I don’t really enjoy beaches like Playa Norte, the island’s most popular beach. But the sketching is always good with so many people to watch and draw. Still, one sketch at the beach and I’m ready to find something else to do.
cancun_isla_mujearas_beach

I thought I’d visit the little alleys behind the beach and hoped to find a local market. I didn’t find one, but I did find a lot of shops selling souvenirs. Fun and colorful stuff to draw: blouses and plates, colorful skulls and hats.
cancun_isla_mujearas_crafts

The wonderful thing about sketching is that as an observer, almost any place is interesting. Although what you notice sometimes when you look really closely is quite sad.
cancun_bitch

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in people, Travel, Yucatan Peninsula, Mexico and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Isla Mujeres

  1. Miss Keene says:

    I visited and lived on Isla years ago, before all the tourists and condo builders found it. I agree it has the most beautiful beaches and sand, and I was very lucky to have stretches of it to myself or a few friends; to hang out at the little cafes and ride mopeds around, then dance in the square. Thanks for a wonderful treat, your art captures it!

    Like

  2. Gia says:

    Your sketches are lovely and very lively just a little note on this one, it is called Isla Mujeres which in Spanish means “Island of the Women”

    Like

  3. Cris Gordy says:

    It is called Islas MUJERES.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  4. Thank you Cris and Gia for catching the typo. I corrected it. I tried finding the origin of the name, it’s not very clear.

    Like

Leave a Reply

