Zoo Sketches

It was a surprisingly warm day at San Francisco Zoo: I didn’t even need to keep my gloves on to sketch. It’s a large zoo, and we walked around quite a bit, so I mostly sketched on the go, in a small 6×8 sketchbook with just a fountain pen. Sometimes I added a bit of pastel over the ink drawing and smudged with my fingers for depth and color.zoo_duckssmallest_zoo

The flamingos always get a color sketch or two when I visit. They’re a fascinating bird to draw with their strange beak and upside down stance. But more importantly, the flamingo pond is right by where you’d break for a meal or a snack. And you can almost always sit in the sun while you draw.

zoo_flamingo1

zoo_flamingo2

This second flamingo piece is my only watercolor piece from the day: watercolor first on this one, then a bit of line with my Sailor Bent Nib, and last in, gel pen.

Looks like I wasn’t the only one inspired to sketch that day. I love when the kids ask for their sketchbooks. (It doesn’t happen often but I always have extra little books around) I like how simply they capture form and how they selectively add or leave out what they want to. zoo_kids_draw

Best of all, I love that they just draw and don’t think of it as a special skill you’re born with, a talent you either have or don’t. They draw to record, they draw because it’s fun.

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Animals, california, Close to home and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Zoo Sketches

  1. rhodadraws says:

    I LOVE your flamingo sketches…and your kids’ unselfconscious attitude about drawing!

    Like

  2. Nina says:

    great time and great sketches by all 🙂

    Like

  3. rosjenke says:

    Super sketches, from all of you. I admire your speed and skill.

    Like

  4. Anuradha khandekar says:

    Love these, the flamingoes are beautiful.

    Like

  5. Love this blog post – especially the watercolor flamingos and the inclusion of your children!

    Like

  6. Christy Lemp says:

    Love it all! esp. the watercolor flamingos and bit of pen line after, and of course children being outdoors without technology. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

