Swim season comes to an end

No, the summer’s not over, but swim-meet season just ended this weekend with one final big meet. I blogged some of my swim sketches from the start of the season here.  Here are more sketches from the end of the season.

I got a lot of diving sketches in my sketchbook, that’s for sure.
swim_dive

And then there were sketches at the starting blocks…

swim_mmet_again1

swim_mmet_again2

And sketches from the far end of the pool where I hung out with a towel on towel on cold (yes, in the summer!) mornings.
swim_finish
And lifeguard sketches…
swim_figures4

swim_lifeguard

And the swim meet lineup, a whole bunch of little kids, all eager swimmers.
swim_lineup

For the final big meet called ‘Champs’ .the girls all braided each others hair.braiding_hair1 braiding_hair2 The meet itself felt like a big market, with pop-up tents everywhere.         champs_swim2

I didn’t get much sketched that day, this was my very last sketch from swim meet season.
champs_swim1

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home, Collage and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Swim season comes to an end

  1. Antje says:

    So inspiring! Do you mind me asking: do you draw blind sometimes, i.e. without really looking at the paper? I wonder if that’s where you get that vibrancy from.

    Like

    • Antje, I use modified-blind-contour drawing, where i’m capturing quick gesture without looking at my paper. When I started drawing like this is felt more “blind” but after practice it doesn’t feel so blind anymore because I have a surer sense of the mark I’m making on the paper even if I’m not watching.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Antje says:

        Huh, so it gets easier when one does this regularly… thank you for the suggestion! This motivates me to do it more often. Maybe I too can get away from stiff and liveless drawings!

        Like

  2. Margaret Hunt says:

    Super as usual!! You continue to inspire. Guess I better go sit by the pool this afternoon and draw the denizens. If only it weren’t si hot and humid here in Key West!!

    Like

  3. What a great source of inspiration! Your sketches are beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

