Pass the Journal

Pass the Journal is an art project organized by Strathmore. Artists from all over the globe fill a spread of one of 12 journals and then pass it along to another artist of their choice.

My friend Nina sent the journal along to me. This is her beautiful spread of everyday treasures she collects over the day. In keeping with the spirit of Nina’s everyday stuff, I decided to just carry the journal around one day instead of my regular sketchbook and draw in it: Nothing out of the ordinary, just my day right now.
strathmore_book

But then the everyday in summer in California is pretty amazing: warm weather, long evenings of sunlight, dinner in the backyard by the orange tree…

I’ve passed on the journal to my friend Marcia in Cedar Falls, and I’m looking forward to seeing what ends up on her spread. You can see where each of the books travels to and what it contains on the Pass the Journal website. Here’s where the journal I drew in, the Rockwell Journal, has been to. If you click on a pin, you can see the spread and find out more about the artist that created it. Like my spread below.
Screen Shot 2015-06-22 at 5.28.26 PM

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home, Silicon Valley and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pass the Journal

  1. Marcia Milner-Brage says:

    Wonderful to see your entry, Suhita. Can’t wait for my turn.

    Like

  2. I love it! Have you ever heard of the big draw?

    Like

  3. Susan Hancey says:

    Great idea. Maybe we should start a “Share the Journal” project just among our local sketch group.

    Like

Leave a Reply

