Sketching wildflowers

Drawing outside my comfort zone today. I like to draw fast and loose. To capture an impression, often without much detail. So it was quite a challenge to walk around Guadalupe Oak Grove Park and draw some really tiny wildflowers that I wanted to identify. I managed to come home and I.D. everything but #4: little pink-lilac flowers, feathery foliage and some strange grass-like structures attached. The flowers were a half centimenter across. I’m based in San Jose, California. If you think you know what I might have drawn, let me know.
Update: They’ve been identified! The amazing Nature Journal Club members got it right within minutes of my posting this. It is a non-native called Erodium cicutarium or pinweed,

wildflowers_ID-Sketched in a Stillman & Birn Epsilon Series book, which has a much smoother paper than my usual book.

When I came across this big clump of poppies, though, out came my large Beta sketchbook. Blue pencil and watercolor with a wee bit of white gouache.

wildflowers_poppies

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sketching wildflowers

  1. Pat says:

    I really LOVE the poppies. You captured their liveliness and joyful spirit.

    Like

  2. Thanks Pat, they’re my favorite flower in California!

    Like

  3. sitanaik says:

    Always a fan…beautiful

    Like

  4. melisnorth says:

    Stunning quick sketches! You really capture the essence of each flower (particularly like the shading on the Yarrow). And I simply adore that loose style on your poppies, very fresh and lively.

    Like

  5. teejaytoo says:

    Suhita, I really love your vigorous style of sketching and cheerful use of colour. I have been following you a little while now. With regard to No4 of today’s pics have a look at Cranesbill /wild geranium in your wild flower book. The ‘grasslike’ attachments are the burst seed heads.
    Best wishes Tim. (England)

    Like

  6. teejaytoo says:

    Hi Suhita, I have been receiving your e-mails for a while now and love the free style and cheerful colours that you use. Beautiful flowers today we call them Californian Poppies in England. Regarding No4 look at Cranesbill/Geranium Pratense, the ‘grasslike’ attachments are the burst seed heads. Best Wishes, Tim

    Like

  7. pegjuanita says:

    YES, I agree with “teejaytoo” that it’s a Cranesbill!

    Like

  8. Grace says:

    Loved the poppies, how large a sketch book did you use.

    Like

  9. So beautiful! Love the poppies. It’s great to push yourself outside of your comfort zone! I need to go out in the field as part of my next course assignment – very apprehensive. Nice to come across your blog. Best wishes, Helen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

