Documenting the process

I’ve been trying to take photographs of a piece as I work on it. Trouble is, I work very quickly and wet-in-wet, usually without a pause. So it’s easy to forget to stop and take a photograph. Still, I managed to get a few in-between shots this week. They’re really useful to me, to look at and see what I did, and often, when I should have stopped. I thought I’d share these process shots.

This is the front of the newly restored Los Gatos Theater. Originally the Strand Theater, it burnt down in a fire in 1929 and was rebuilt as the art deco Los Gatos Theater.

Sketch 1: brushpen and watercolor.
Sketch 2: watercolor over blue colored pencil

los_gatos_theatercombined

theater_4

And a sketch of my kids. Pencil sketch under watercolor and Brushpen.
KN_scratch_process

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Close to home, How to, Silicon Valley, Vintage Signs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Documenting the process

  1. Fabio says:

    A feast to your eyes, as always! Thanks so much, Suhita! 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for putting these step by step pictures on, I find them so useful! It’s great to see what processes and stages someone else goes through. Thanks 🙂

    Like

  3. barbfreda says:

    Do you let a first quick wash dry and then go back to darken it? Lovely work. I love seeing the stages.

    Like

    • Barb, I work mostly wet-in-wet. And I don’t do true layering and glazing: I might go back and add depth but even then it’s before things dry out.Most of what you’re seeing as ‘stages’ here is just me pausing to take a photograph every so often. I’m not waiting between these stages, which means my paper remains wet for the most part.

      Like

  4. Pat says:

    It’s very helpful to see your paintings as they progress. Thank you for sharing the way you did.

    Like

  5. ruthbyrn says:

    I always enjoy your posts. Not only are your images beautiful but also I like the instructional elements a lot. Thanks for being there.

    Like

  6. Miho says:

    Suhita, your paintings are MAGICAL they put actual photographs to shame! Looking forward to seeing more of your work!

    Like

  7. Lynn Holbein says:

    Thank you so much for demystifying how you approach your process!

    Like

Leave a Reply

