When the first one doesn’t work…

There’s this fabulous looking sign that just reads ‘Time’ over a clock located above a shopfront on the corner of Bascom and San Carlos in San Jose. Turns out it’s the Time Deli which has been around since 1950.

I had just enough time for a half hour sketch. Here’s what I had, 20 minutes later.
time_deli_bascom_1

Too labored, no focus. It’s pretty common for me to end up with a sketch I’m not happy with, especially when the scene involves details I want to include: a sign in a particular font, in this instance. So I turn the page and do another one. Capture two, with only a slight change in angle. By now I’m seeing more clearly, I’ve sketched this once before, I know it better. That really helps me simplify, work bolder and create focus. Another 20 minute sketch.
time_deli_bascom_2I’m running a little late for my next appointment, but I needed that second sketch.

More vintage signs from around the South Bay and other places. Here on flickr.

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home, Silicon Valley and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When the first one doesn’t work…

  1. njordan1338 says:

    I just want to say that I really like your work. I used to sketch and life’s challenges and priorities (children and family) got the best of me.

    Thank you for inspiring me to restart something I enjoy. I started using a sketch app on my IPad but I can’t seem to get used to it. I purchased a pad and colored pencils so when I finally finish something I’m going to start publishing what I do.

    Thanks again for the inspiration…

    Like

  2. I love that you paint signs. I love the mid-century modern signs and also paint them. This morning I posted a similar post, but in reverse — oddly, I often find my best is the freshest one, and in the second I over think it!

    Like

  3. San Jose has some incredible vintage signage! So cool you are recording them so beautifully.

    Like

Leave a Reply

