More ‘vintage’ signs

I sketched two signs this week to add to my vintage sign collection. Trouble is, I don’t know how old they are, or very much about them. Both of them are in San Jose, California, and if you’re familiar with them and know anything about them, I’d love to know more.

This first one is a sign for a strip mall called Carriage Square. It has a three-dimensional horse carriage, complete with lamps and wheels.
carriageSquare-vintage-sign

This is Race Street Fish & Poultry. I love drawing a mess of electric wires. It always looks to me like all the poles and buildings they’re connected to are suspended from them.
racestreet-vintage-sign

Remember, if you know more about either of these signs, I’d love to know!

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home, Silicon Valley and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More ‘vintage’ signs

  1. I know Carriage Street — I recognize it from when I traveled to SJ every month. Have you approached them to find out more? Love your art BTW Suhita!

    Like

  2. workwithJess@aimglobal says:

    nice ! my enviousness strikes

    Like

  3. lmfrankstone says:

    Suhita, your work just gets better and better all the time! Lovely linework and paint application.

    Like

  4. KnitNell says:

    Lovely sketches and what an interesting subject!

    Like

Leave a Reply

