Drawing Busy Places: At the supermarket

I love sketching busy places. One place that’s guaranteed to have a crowd ( and good pastries) is the Whole Foods Market not far from home. Capturing crowds of people and color and texture is always exciting. I love the challenge of conveying all that detail without drawing it all in.

The checkout line.

wholefoods1

The bakery counter. Love their alfajores. I could eat a dozen at a sitting.
wholefoods2

The seafood counter. It’s Dungeness Crab season in California right now!

wholefoods3

And the fruit aisle
wholefoods4
All sketched with a Brush Pen, watercolor and a white gel pen.

 

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Drawing Busy Places: At the supermarket

  1. Susan Ford says:

    Wonderful — so gestural, fresh and expressive, Suhita! Looks like you’ve mastered that Brush Pen. Cheers!

    Like

  2. Lin says:

    Brilliant!! How on earth did you sketch all that without folks running into you? I am awed!

    Like

  3. Grace says:

    What is the white gel pen and what point of the piece to you use it, start or end?? Love it and will get myself one. Can’t wait to get to Sprouts Market and do some sketching. G

    Like

  4. Ingrid says:

    Absolutely masterful….thank you so much..the white gel pen is the finishing touch!!!

    Like

  5. s.j. says:

    from: dr.s.j.

    Brilliant expressive Brush pen work

    Like

  6. Lee Kline says:

    Suhita, these are so nice. I was at the market yesterday trying to draw my cart as I followed Jan around the store.

    Like

  7. Impressive work! It’s not easy to draw people moving around. You have really mastered this challenge!

    Like

  8. Steve StClair says:

    Suhita, I just love the immediacy of your work. True sketching not studied drawings. Very real, almost visceral. Exactly what is required and no more , to capture the moment. Wonderful stuff.

    Like

  9. Melissa says:

    So you just plop yourself down in the middle of the market and start sketching? Aren’t you self-conscious? Aren’t you in the way? How do you do that?!

    Like

    • Melissa, I stand and sketch: I hold my little watercolor kit too. It would be impossible to plop down and get the view I do standing. Besides, I might get asked to leave if I sat right in the middle of everything 🙂 I tend to stand sort of to the side. but not far from the action. And no, I’m not self-conscious anymore. it took practice to get that way, though.

      Like

      • Melissa says:

        Oh, you are brave! And you really captured the scenes, we’re right in the middle of the market action! I don’t know how you hold it all and still sketch, but you have obviously worked out a technique that’s a winner. Kudos to you!

        Like

  10. Wow; just wow! Busy scenes = not easy to do, but you’ve pulled it off masterfully. Love the capture of and treatment of the people, whom I can imagine where standing still for an extremely short period of time, and the people overall must have been in a very dynamic state. And you colored the whole thing. Awesome sketches indeed!

    Like

  11. Cojo says:

    I would be too embarressed to sketch in public, prefering a quiet corner where people won’t gawk at me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

