Drawing Pears, Pondering People.

I’m usually out and about sketching at the busiest street corner I can find. So drawing little objects at home is a change of pace for me. The nice thing about drawing like this is that it forces me to slow down. I can’t explain why: maybe it’s that I usually draw big scenes scaled down to little pages in my sketchbook? And here I’m drawing small objects with simple shapes?  Or maybe it’s just that I don’t think the pears are going to get up and walk away like the people in my urban sketches?

Notice how no pear ever looks like the classic shape we imagine pears to be. Drawing each pear as it is: bumps, blemishes and all, and not the ‘symbol’ of a pear is what makes it believable. When I drew these I was thinking about how the same principle applies to drawing people: I like to draw people from observation and not draw from what I “know”. It’s my way of always drawing a particular person and never a symbol.

But back to the pears. Here they are in graphite:

pears-greyAnd again in watercolor.
pears-color_finished

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Drawing Pears, Pondering People.

  1. Diane says:

    Love your style when you “slow down”, but love your quick style too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Suhita, I love seeing these slow sketches. The watercolour ones are beautiful with all those little bits of colour.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fabio says:

    Great results! Good job!!!

    Like

  4. Grace says:

    You are such an inspiration.
    Grace haverty

    Like

  5. Genine says:

    beautiful pears!

    Like

  6. Diane, Fabio, Grace, Genine, thank you!

    Like

  7. First thing i saw this morning on my computer screen! My day is going to go well….

    Like

  8. I love pears!. The shape of them, and the taste of them. I painted some in watercolors over a year ago. Yours are beautiful. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

