Where’s the color?

If you’ve seen my sketches before, you know I love color. But lately, I’ve been deliberately putting aside color every once in a while. I’m hoping it’ll help me focus more on value, something that often gets lost in my play with color.  (For a great exploration of value in sketches, I highly recommend Matthem Brehm’s book ‘Sketching on Location‘. )

Here are some of my recent sketches.

At the mechanic’s, waiting for my car.
car_mechanic

Bananas in Noodler’s Bulletproof Ink.
inktober_bananasMy kids, reading ‘Captain Underpants’.
inktober_KN1
Rodin’s ‘Thinker’ at the Cantor Museum, Stanford.
inktober-cantor3
Natural Bridges Beach,Santa Cruz, California. Ink and Brush.
natural7I’ve even tried doing a ‘value study’ before diving into a color sketch-except I don’t seem to use the first study when I dive into my color palette.
Palm trees and Mount Umunhum.
2palms_um_combine

 

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Where’s the color?

  1. I see that technique changes vastly when you leave colour out! That’s interesting…..

    Like

  2. s.j. says:

    from: dr.s.j.

    Interesting .
    Monochromatic , showing Shades of Grey .

    Like

  3. Wendy Kate says:

    I Love the bananas! 😄

    Like

  4. Lee Kline says:

    These put me in mind of a time in my far-lost youth when all magazines were filled with artists’ illustrations in black and white as well as color. It is a shame that in these times, editors and art directors of magazines have come to fall back on stock photography so often. Beautiful work, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

