Eavesdropping at coffee shops


Before the crowds arrive.

8:00 am: Senior citizens and bikers at the coffee shop. Very entertaining characters, make for great sketching subjects.

9:10 am: the kids have been packed off to school. The mommies arrive. The bikers pack up and disappear. Hot topics of discussion: teachers, facebook and ex-husbands.

3pm:Angst and a cup of coffee.

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Eavesdropping at coffee shops

  1. Lynn says:

    I love your sketches. They really capture the moment. What type of paper do you use? I am still searching for a good watercolor sketchbook.

    Lynn

    Like

    • makingamess says:

      Lynn,
      currently I work in a moleskine: works fine for light watercolors and dry media, but i’m on the lookout for a less cream-colored and more white paper… if you have recommendations, let me know

      Like

  2. Martine says:

    Nice and lively scenes !

    Like

  3. Sharon says:

    Love your coffee shop sketches! Very interesting! 🙂

    Like

  4. Johanna says:

    What a great post! I love the different charachters and your commentary! Great sketches too.

    I’m not very fond of the regular Moleskin (by the way, how to you do to paint watercolor in it? It really doesn’t work for me), but the watercolor notebook has nice paper in it. It has a landscape format though which is not too great. I know a lot of people like the hand book journal, and I’ve heard recommendations for the fabriano artistico journal as well. Hope you find something you like in terms of notebooks.

    Like

    • makingamess says:

      Thank you! I’l look into those two journals: haven’t used either. I use just the regular moleskine. Since I don’t often use watercolor, I don’t want watercolor paper. I like the heft and finish of the paper in the regular moleskine( and the vertical format) but not the cream color…

      Like

  5. Shalini says:

    Very expressive sketches Suhita… So glad to have dropped in at your blog…

    Like

  6. Christie says:

    Love your loose and expressive style. My favorite is the bikers at the coffeeshop.

    Like

Leave a Reply

